Home inspectors in Connecticut are people who have been licensed to examine and evaluate residential buildings. In many situations, home inspectors work with those interested in buying property to provide a review and analysis of the home. Home inspectors can recognize issues or defects in a piece of property, and report this to a potential home buyer or an owner of the property. If you are interested in becoming a Connecticut home inspector, you can learn more on this page.
Obtaining a Home Inspector License
In order to practice as a home inspector, you need to be licensed to do so. Licensing and the regulation of licenses is the responsibility of the Home Inspection Licensing Board. This board is currently comprised of four Connecticut residents. The board determines if applications should be granted or denied, and they can also launch investigations down the line if a home inspector receives a complaint and their license comes into question.
If you complete the required schooling and training to become a home inspector, you can apply for this kind of license by filling out an application form. The requirements before you apply for the license include:
- Getting a Home Inspector Intern Permit.
- Perform at least 100 hours of home inspection overseen by a licensed home inspector.
- Pass a written examination.
In addition to filling out the form, you need to pay an application fee. This fee will be between $100 and $290, depending on what exactly you are applying for.
If you do obtain a home inspector license, keep in mind that this license will expire. You need to renew the license every other year. These licenses expire on June 30th of odd years, so make sure that you send in your renewal form and the fee in time to properly maintain your license.
Following the Rules and Regulations
Once you get your license, keep in mind that it can be taken away if you do not follow the regulations outlined by the Department of Consumer Protection and the Home Inspection Licensing Board. Here are a few regulations outlined by the DCP:
- The home inspector should rely on their education and training when expressing opinions regarding a property or related to their business.
- The inspector must express good faith towards their clients.
- The home inspector can’t disclose inspection results without the permission of their client unless emergency action must be taken.
- The home inspector can’t accept compensation from more than one party for the same service. The inspector also can’t offer or accept allowances or commissions.
- The inspector must express professionalism when dealing with clients.
- The home inspector can’t create misleading or false advertising in order to entice clients to enlist their services.
- During an inspection, the home inspector can’t comment on the appraisal on the market value of a property.
- The home inspector can’t discriminate against clients.
If you are guilty of any of these things listed above, someone could file a complaint against you and your license. If this is the case, the board will launch an investigation against you. If they feel that the investigation is warranted, they could establish penalties that you will have to face. Common penalties include fines, license suspensions and even license revocations. If you need to defend your license, contact me for help.