Starting in 2021, nail technicians are now required to obtain and maintain a professional license in order to work in the state of Connecticut. If you are a nail technician, you can find more information on this page regarding this process.
Nail Technicians and Professional Licenses
It was recently announced that starting January 1st, 2021, the state of Connecticut requires nail technicians to be licensed, joining the ranks of estheticians and eyelash technicians which required licensing as of July 1, 2020. Nail technicians could begin this process as early as October 2020, and will have to fulfill certain requirements in order to obtain their license.
Attorney Dennis Mancini, the leading lawyer with The License Lawyers, weighs in. “Although these new licensing requirements can be frustrating, there can be a bright side,” he says. “First, licensing can help attract customers who might feel safer by visiting a licensed nail technician and knowing that the individual has been reviewed and approved by the state. Second, it can help protect the businesses of existing technicians by raising the bar for new practitioners.”
Of course, introducing licenses for nail technicians means that they will now need to deal with additional fees, testing, and training in order to do their jobs. And having a license means that it can be taken away. Attorney Mancini plans on defending nail technicians facing licensing issues, such as suspension or even revocation, as he defends other professional licenses. “I fight for my clients in order to defend not only their professional licenses, but their livelihoods. I will do everything I can for nail technicians facing licensing problems in 2021 and beyond.”
Getting Your License
If you are a nail technician and you have not already obtained your professional license, now is the time to do so. The license regulations will be enforced starting this year, and you do not want to risk loss of business because you are not in compliance with licensing laws.
In order to obtain a nail technician license in Connecticut, the applicant has to complete a study course of at least 100 hours. They also need to get a certificate from an approved school.
Alternatively, a nail technician qualifies for a professional license if they have continuously practiced for at least two years prior to January 2021. If you are in this position, you will not have to undergo more training in order to obtain your license. Instead, you can indicate your experience on your application, and it should be approved. However, keep in mind that there is a $100 application fee that you will need to pay.
Defending Your License
Once you obtain your nail technician license, you need to make sure that you keep it. Make sure to renew your license when necessary, and also make sure to comply with the rules and regulations regarding your license. If you find yourself in a position where your license is threatened, contact Attorney Dennis Mancini. He can review your situation and fight to defend your license and your livelihood. For more information, give us a call today.