Connecticut Tattoo License Defense

Tattoo License Attorney Defense

Tattoo artists sacrifice a lot of time and money to learn the advanced training necessary to tattoo people. Tattooing takes extreme precision and attention to detail as well as precautions to keep clients safe and healthy. Because of the risks involved with tattooing as well as the fact that they are permanent, this could leave tattoo artists susceptible to losing their license due to complaining clients or others. 

Tattoo License Regulations

Although tattoo artists have very specific job duties, the skill and knowledge it takes to be successful and the time dedication it takes to become licensed is immense. Licensees must understand the licensee policies, be at least 18 years old, and complete a course on disease and blood transmission. They also must have a certification in first aid and complete 2,000 hours of practical training and experience under the supervision of a licensed technician. The other option is to complete five years of continuous practice of tattooing. 

The Connecticut Department of Health regulates tattoo artists and licenses applicants. The main regulations for licensees comes from the Connecticut General Statute §19, which pertains to the regulations of people engaged in tattooing. There are certain acts that are absolutely prohibited by the law pertaining to tattoo artists: 

Buying, selling, or fraudulently obtaining a license and using it to practice tattooing. 

Practicing tattooing under another person’s name or a false or assumed name.

Aiding or abetting a person who is tattooing while suspended or revoked.

Advertising to tattoo a person without the proper license 

Tattooing any person that is a minor, under 18 years old, without parental permission. 

Under the statutes, these offenses actually classify as a Class D misdemeanor, meaning the Courts can try a person for these violations and they can result in legal action. On the other hand, the Department of Public Health can take action against a licensee or potential licensee as well and has its own set of acts that it can discipline an artist for, including: 

Fraudulent or deceitful practicing.

Negligent, incompetent, or wrongful conduct in the course of conducting professional activities.

Emotional disorders or mental illnesses.

Physician illnesses or impairments.

Drug, alcohol, narcotics, or chemicals abuse or tattooing while under the influence of substances.

Falsifying client records when it comes to tattooing.

Investigations and License Issues

The Commissioner of Public Health has significant authority to not only launch an investigation into a tattoo artist that is suspected to have committed a violation, but also order a tattoo technician to do certain things. One of these orders could be that the technician must submit to a physical or mental examination when there is reason to believe that the technician has a physical or mental capacity that makes it unsafe for tattooing clients. The Commissioner has authority to launch an investigation into a tattoo establishment and require that the establishment comply with sanitation and safety standards. In some cases, the disciplinary action could be license suspension or revocation. 

If you feel that your license to tattoo is in jeopardy and you need more information or advice on how to deal with an investigation or dealing with the Commissioner, call our office to speak with an attorney who can help you through the situation.