Actions Taken Against Massage Therapist Licenses - The License Lawyers

Actions Taken Against Massage Therapist Licenses

Massage therapists are some of the most popular professionals in the state of Connecticut. In 2020, there were 5,740 licensed massage therapists in the state of Connecticut, making it the 7th most popular license in the state. If you are a massage therapist, you have likely put a lot of time and money into obtaining your professional license. Now that you have it, you do not want to lose it or face other disciplinary action from the state. However, there are situations in which the state could impose consequences on you or even revoke your license. For this reason, it is important to stay in compliance with all of the rules surrounding your professional license. On this page, I will discuss some of the disciplinary actions that have been taken against massage therapists in Connecticut in the past few years.

Disciplinary Action

In 2020, the following disciplinary action was taken against massage therapists with licenses in Connecticut:

  1. A $1,020 fine, a reprimand, and a permanent restriction from performing pelvic floor therapy for patients were imposed on a massage therapist who broke rules and regulations.
  2. A reprimand and probation.
  3. Cease and desist from practicing.
  4. A $1,020 fine and a reprimand.

These were the only disciplinary actions taken against massage therapists in 2020 according to the Department of Public Health. But, keep in mind that the Department of Public Health has only released information about disciplinary action for the first half of 2020 thus far.

In 2019, here are the actions taken against licensed massage therapists in the state:

  1. A $500 fine and a reprimand.
  2. Denial of a license.
  3. An unlicensed massage therapist was forced to cease and desist until they got their license.
  4. Voluntary surrender of the license.
  5. A voluntary agreement not to renew their license.
  6. A license probation of one year, a reprimand, employer reports, and an agreement not to practice on their own.

In 2018, these were the consequences that licensed massage therapists faced for issues with their practices:

  1. A reprimand.
  2. A cease and desist order from practicing.
  3. A license revocation.
  4. Voluntary surrender of the license.
  5. Voluntary surrender of the license.
  6. A license suspension.
  7. An unlicensed massage therapist was ordered to cease and desist.
  8. Voluntary surrender of the license.
  9. Voluntary surrender of the license.

Finally, here were the disciplinary actions from 2017 in Connecticut:

  1. An order to cease and desist the practice.
  2. Voluntary surrender of the license.
  3. An order to cease and desist the practice.
  4. A $1,020 fine and a reprimand.
  5. A cease and desist order until the massage therapist could be licensed in Connecticut.

Defending Your License

Facing an issue with your massage therapist license can be frightening and overwhelming. You want to protect yourself and your livelihood – but what is the best way to do this? It is a good idea not to tackle this process on your own. Instead, contact a professional license defense lawyer who can walk you through the process and make sure that your rights are protected. If you need more information on protecting yourself and hiring a lawyer, contact me and my team. We are happy to help you through this difficult time.

RECENT POSTS

CONTACT US

GET THE LICENSE LAWYERS ON YOUR SIDE

CALL US

Speak to our team about your case.

TEXT US

Get answers to your questions by text.

EMAIL US

Send us an email with your case details.

MESSAGE US

Chat with us on Facebook Messenger.

Copyright 2021 The License Lawyers - Attorney Jay Ruane is reponsible for the content of this advertising.