Do you have a Connecticut healthcare practitioner license, such as a nurse’s license or a physician’s license? These licenses are not indefinite and need to be renewed periodically in order to stay valid and up-to-date. On this page, you can learn more about Connecticut’s renewal process to ensure that you comply with their requirements and do not let your license lapse.
When to Renew a License
In general, you will have to renew your license annually, however there are some licenses that need to be renewed biennially. In many cases, you will get a notice from the state 60 days before your license is set to expire. This should give you plenty of time to renew the license. You will also get a final notice 30 days after the license expires so that you have one last opportunity to renew the license. It is important that you update your address with the agency that oversees your license to ensure that it is correct and you get any notices that the agency is trying to send you.
Licenses that need to be renewed on or after June 30th, 2019 will include instructions for renewal online. Many agencies are moving to an online renewal system.
If you are a dentist, nurse, physician, tattoo artist, genetic counselor, or a master’s level social worker, you will not get a mail notification. Instead, you will be emailed information about your license renewal. Online renewal is available to these kinds of professionals.
What If Your License Lapses?
If you fail to keep your license current, your license will no longer be valid. If you want to reactivate your license, you will have to apply for reinstatement and make sure that you meet all of the necessary requirements.
However, keep in mind that licenses issued by PLIS have a 90-day grace period after the date of expiration. During that 90 day period, you have the option to continue practicing and you could renew your license. Once that period passes, though, your license is not valid and you need to apply for reinstatement.
License Renewal and Covid-19
Throughout Connecticut’s COVID civil preparedness emergency, license renewal has been suspended. If your license was valid at the time that these laws went into effect (March 30th, 2020) your license will remain valid throughout the COVID civil preparedness emergency. Once renewal requirements resume, you can renew your license within six months after renewal restarts.
Help With Your License
If you have questions about your license, renewal, reinstatement, or how the Covid-19 emergency impacts your license, contact us. We are happy to walk you through the current laws and process to ensure that you can continue practicing and that your license is valid.
If your license lapses or you have received a complaint and you are worried about your license being revoked, contact us for help. We can review your situation and do what we can to protect your license. My team is waiting to hear from you – simply contact us for a free consultation and we can get started defending you and your license today.