Actions Taken Against Connecticut Physicians
  • Home
  • |
  • Healthcare
  • |
  • Actions Taken Against Connecticut Physicians and Physician Assistants

Actions Taken Against Connecticut Physicians and Physician Assistants

As a Connecticut physician or physician’s assistant, avoiding action against your license is a top priority. Unfortunately, this is not always possible. There are situations where the Department of Public Health or the Connecticut Medical Examining Board will take action against a physician’s license. But how often does this happen? How serious are the penalties? And how can you avoid this? You can learn more about recent disciplinary action and protecting yourself in this post.

2020 Disciplinary Action

So far in 2020, there have been 16 disciplinary issues involving physicians and physicians’ assistants in Connecticut. Here are the actions taken by the Board and the Department of Public Health per professional:

  1. One year probation period and a $4,000 fine.
  2. Reprimand (unspecified).
  3. One year probation period and a $5,000 fine.
  4. Voluntary surrender of license.
  5. One year probation period and a $5,000 fine.
  6. Two year probation period.
  7. Cease and desist.
  8. Voluntary surrender of license.
  9. $1,000 fine.
  10. Summary suspension.
  11. Four months probation period.
  12. $1,000 fine.
  13. Voluntary agreement not to reinstate or renew license.
  14. Three year probation period and SPEX exam.
  15. One year probation period and $7,500 fine.
  16. $2,500 fine.

2019 Disciplinary Action

In 2019, there were 33 instances where disciplinary action was taken against a professional and their license. These actions were:

  1. Voluntary surrender of license.
  2. One year probation period and a $10,000 fine.
  3. Voluntary surrender of license.
  4. $12,500 fine.
  5. Voluntary surrender of license.
  6. Five year probation period.
  7. $5,000 fine.
  8. Voluntary surrender of license.
  9. Practice restriction (cannot perform surgery).
  10. Reprimand (unspecified).
  11. Voluntary surrender of license.
  12. $8,000 fine.
  13. Probation and a $10,000 fine.
  14. 18 month probation period and a $7,500 fine.
  15. License suspension during pending investigation.
  16. Voluntary surrender of license.
  17. Cease and desist.
  18. One year probation period.
  19. Reprimand (unspecified).
  20. $5,000 fine.
  21. Voluntary surrender of license.
  22. $7,500 fine.
  23. 18 month probation period and $7,500 fine.
  24. Two year license suspension and four year probation period.
  25. Cease and desist.
  26. Reprimand (unspecified).
  27. Six month probation period and $8,000 fine.
  28. Probation.
  29. Six month probation period and $7,500 fine.
  30. Voluntary surrender of license.
  31. Practice restriction (cannot provide prescriptions or clinical care).
  32. One year probation period.
  33. Summary suspension.
  34. Six month probation period and $3,000 fine.

2018 Disciplinary Action

Finally in 2018 there were 38 instances where disciplinary action was taken against a physician or physician’s assistant. The penalties are:

  1. $1,000 fine.
  2. Summary suspension.
  3. $1,000 fine.
  4. Six month probation period, $7,500 fine, and practice restriction (cannot perform surgery).
  5. $3,500 fine.
  6. Voluntary surrender.
  7. $1,000 fine.
  8. Cease and desist.
  9. Voluntary surrender of license.
  10. Five year probation period.
  11. Voluntary surrender of license.
  12. Cease and desist.
  13. Voluntary surrender of license.
  14. Six month suspension.
  15. Voluntary surrender of license.
  16. $7,500 fine.
  17. $7,500 fine.
  18. Agreed not to renew their license.
  19. Voluntary surrender of license.
  20. License suspension during pending investigation.
  21. One year probation period.
  22. One year probation period and a $3,500 fine.
  23. Voluntary agreement not to reinstate or renew license.
  24. Voluntary surrender of license.
  25. Five year probation period.
  26. Voluntary surrender of license.
  27. Intention to resume practice vacated.
  28. License revocation.
  29. One year probation period and $15,000 fine.
  30. 18 month probation period, $5,000 fine, and prescribing restriction.
  31. Four month probation period and $1,000 fine.
  32. $3,500 fine.
  33. License suspension and five year probation period.
  34. Reprimand (unspecified).
  35. License suspension during investigation.
  36. Reprimand (unspecified).
  37. Reprimand (unspecified).
  38. Probation.

How to Protect Your License

If you are a physician or a physician’s assistant, you can see that the penalties of a license issue can be extremely severe. Protect your license by contacting our office today.

RECENT POSTS

CONTACT US

GET THE LICENSE LAWYERS ON YOUR SIDE

CALL US

Speak to our team about your case.

TEXT US

Get answers to your questions by text.

EMAIL US

Send us an email with your case details

MESSAGE US

Chat with us on Facebook Messenger

Copyright 2020 The License Lawyers - Attorney Jay Ruane is reponsible for the content of this advertising.