In order to practice as a social worker in the state of Connecticut, you need to be licensed by the Department of Public Health. A career as a social worker can be exciting and rewarding. You will have the opportunity to work with those who have been disenfranchised and help them navigate some of the most difficult points of their lives. On this page, you can learn more about obtaining a social worker license and how to keep it.
In order to be awarded a social worker license in Connecticut, you need to meet the following requirements:
- You must have a master’s or doctorate degree in social work from a school that is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education.
- After obtaining your degree, you need to complete 3,000 hours of social work experience. At least 100 of these hours must be under the supervision of a certified social worker.
- You must complete and pass the Clinical Level Examination of the Association of Social Work Boards.
In order to apply for the social work license, you need to provide the following:
- An official transcript validating your social work degree.
- An employment form verifying your 3,000 hours of social work experience.
- A supervision form verifying your 100 hours of social work experience under the supervision of a certified social worker.
- A report showing that you passed the Clinical Level Examination.
- A social worker license application and the $315.00 application fee.
Also keep in mind that if you do get a social worker license, you need to renew it. The renewal fee is $195.00 per renewal.
Grounds For Disciplinary Action
Once you obtain your license, you will be monitored by the Department of Public Health. In the event that a complaint is filed against you, the Department of Public Health could take action against you and your license. Here are some common grounds for disciplinary action against your license:
- Being convicted of a felony.
- Deceit or fraud that contributed to obtaining or reinstating a social worker license.
- Deceit or fraud in your work.
- Incompetent, negligent, or wrongful conduct in a professional setting.
- Mental health issues.
- Physical health issues.
- Substance abuse issues.
- Willful falsification of social work records.
These are some of the main ways that a person may have action taken against their social worker license, but this is not an extensive list. The Department of Public Health may take action as they see fit.
Defending Your License
You work hard to obtain a social worker license in the state of Connecticut. The last thing that you want is for this license to be stripped from you, preventing you from working as a social worker. If you are facing a complaint against your practice or your license, don’t panic. In many cases, serious action may not be taken against you. However, it is still important to defend yourself to the best of your abilities. At this time, it is a good idea to contact a professional license defense lawyer such as myself. I can walk you through this process and fight for minimal penalties on your behalf.