Action Taken Against Connecticut Dentists

Actions Taken Against Connecticut Dentists

Becoming a dentist in Connecticut is a dream come true for many. However, it is important to stay vigilant once you have your license, because this license could be taken away from you. You are not guaranteed to keep your license for life, no matter what happens. There are some situations in which the Department of Health or the Connecticut State Dental Commission sees fit to impose sanctions against your license, or even suspend or revoke it.

If you find yourself facing an investigation into your license, you need to know what you are up against. Here, I explain the sanctions imposed on Connecticut dentist licenses in the past few years. This will give you a better idea of the potential penalties that you face.

Disciplinary Action

So far in 2020 there has only been one situation in which action was taken against a dentist’s license. In this situation, the dentist received an unspecified reprimand.

In 2019, there were eight instances where action was taken against a dentist. In the first, the dentist’s license was suspended while an investigation was pending. In the second situation, the dentist received a $5,000 fine for misconduct. In the third situation, the dentist received a one year probation period and a fine of $2,000.

In the next situation, which occurred in September 2019, the dentist received an unspecified reprimand. This dentist appealed the decision to the Superior Court.

Next, a separate dentist got a summary suspension which was lifted the following month.

The sixth dentist that was reprimanded in 2019 received a fine of $1,000. In the next situation, a dentist was put on probation for a period of two years.

Finally, a dentist was put on probation for a period of six months.

In seven cases disciplinary action was taken against dentists in 2018. The penalties are as follows:

  1. License revocation.
  2. One year probation period and a $4,000 fine.
  3. Voluntary surrender of license.
  4. One year probation period and a $10,000 fine.
  5. Three year probation period and a $10,000 fine.
  6. Permanent license restriction preventing them from practicing endodontics and a fine of $3,000.
  7. Unspecified reprimand and notice to provide notice 90 days before practicing again in Connecticut.

2017 saw the largest number of reprimands with 17. The penalties for dentists were:

  1. $25,000 fine.
  2. $3,000 fine.
  3. Six month probation period.
  4. Voluntary surrender of license.
  5. One year probation period.
  6. Two year probation period and a license suspension of at least three months.
  7. $3,000 fine.
  8. Reprimand (unspecified).
  9. $6,000 fine.
  10. One year probation period and a $2,000 fine.
  11. $2,000 fine.
  12. One year probation period and a $1,000 fine.
  13. Two year probation period and a $3,000 fine.
  14. Four month probation period and a $5,000 fine.
  15. Two year probation period and a $10,000 fine.
  16. $3,000 fine.
  17. Three year probation period and a $10,000 fine.

Protecting Your License

The best way to protect your license from these penalties or others is by having a professional license defense lawyer on your side. A lawyer will fight for your interests and make sure that you are not taken advantage by the disciplinary process. Contact us today to learn more about representation.

RECENT POSTS

CONTACT US

GET THE LICENSE LAWYERS ON YOUR SIDE

CALL US

Speak to our team about your case.

TEXT US

Get answers to your questions by text.

EMAIL US

Send us an email with your case details

MESSAGE US

Chat with us on Facebook Messenger

Copyright 2020 The License Lawyers - Attorney Jay Ruane is reponsible for the content of this advertising.